The P-Zero Process

Create new task

Write notes

Change task priority

Task timer

Workload schedule

Left-Right screen flip

Notification board

Menu functions

Instructions

Watch the video

Play the video on the left to see Priority-Zero in action


The P-Zero process/concept:

Priority-Zero provides a means of keeping a list of clients, tasks and/or projects all within easy reach so they can be activated as and when required.

Deleting completed tasks is a two step process, whereby they are P-Zeroed first. This puts them in a separate area away from the active panel, so that any time spent working on them can still be recorded, and to also make it possible to reactivate them if required. Once deleted from the P-Zeroed list, tasks stay deleted for good.

The other main feature of the system is the visual display that shows the impact tasks and projects have on the coming weeks, which are automatically reduced when tasks are completed and P-Zeroed.


Create new task

In the task detail / notes panel (top right):

  1. Click the "clear" button.
  2. Enter the name of the task.
  3. The number of days you expect the task to take
    • The default setting for a day is 8 hours.
    • If a task is likely to take hours rather than days to complete, then enter those hours as a fraction of 8 hours. For example, 2 hours would be 0.25 days.
    • The value entered here will drive the workload outlook at the bottom right of the screen.
  4. Select a priority for the task
    • The task priority dropdown list will automatically calculate the range of priorities, based on the number of existing tasks (if any), and the new one you're creating..
  5. Click the "add" button, and your new task will appear in the task list, at the top left hand side of the screen .

Write notes for individual tasks

In the task list (top left):

  1. Select a task for which you want to enter notes.
  2. Type or paste notes (maximum 3,000 characters) into the task detail / notes panel at the top right of the screen.
  3. Click the "save" button.

Change a task's priority

There are two ways to change a task's priority:

  1. Select a task in the task list.
    • Manually change the selected task's priority in the task detail / notes panel at the top right of the screen.
    • Click "save".
  2. Select a task from the task list, and drag it to it's new position on the task list. The priority for that task will be changed automatically.

Task timer

At the bottom left hand side of the screen is the task timer, that can be used to record the time spent working on tasks.

  1. Select a task in the task list.
    • The area at the top of the task timer confirms which task has been selected, by asking if you want to start timing that task.
  2. Click the "start" button.
    • The timer will start and display a dialog in which a description can be saved of the specific part of the task being recorded. This can be dismissed if there is nothing specific to save.
    • The area at the top of the timer will display the task being timed, and the date and time timing started.
    • The timer itself will display a running total of the hours, minutes and seconds that have passed since timing began.
      • The timer will continue timing even if the browser is refreshed or shut down. Once the browser refreshes, or is restarted and logged in, the timer will display the amount of time elapsed since timing began, and resume timing.
  3. All functions will still be available while a task is beign timed:
    • New tasks can still be created,
    • Priorities can be changed,
    • Notes can be edited or created,
    • Tasks can be P-Zeroed,
    • All menu functions will continue to work.
  4. The time recorded for a particlar task will reduce the "days left" value for that task in the task list.
    • The original number of days set for the task will still appear in the task detail / notes panel.
    • If the number of "days left" show a negative value, this means that the task is taking longer to complete than the original number of days that were set for it. To fix this, add the number of more days you estimate the task will take to complete.

Workload

At the bottom right hand side of the screen is the workload schedule. This shows the total, aggregate number of "days left" for all tasks.

  1. The workload schedule will always start from the current day.
  2. Weekends can be included or excluded, and the workload will adjust automatically to reflect either configuration.
  3. If weekends are excluded, they'll be shaded and move across the screen from right to left.

Left-Right screen flip

The default setting for the main display is left-right orientation, with the task list and task timer on the left, and the task detail / notes panel and workload schedule on the right.

  1. To flip the display orientation, click on the "L-R" icon at the top right hand side of the screen.
  2. The selected orientation will be saved until changed.

Notification Board

The notification board can be accessed by clicking on the red speech icon in the top right hand side of the screen.

The following information will be displayed here:

  1. Suggestions and requests for improvement.
  2. General messages.
  3. Announcements.
  4. Planned improvements / changes.

Menu functions

The menu can be activated either clicking on the blue burger icon at the top right hand side of the screen, or by clicking CTRL-M on the keyboard.

  1. Change password.
    • Enter old password, and the new password and click the "change" button.
  2. Report
    • Enter date range and click "Create Report".
    • The resulting report will appear on the left of the report screen.
    • The "Export to CSV" button will appear once the report has been created, and clicking it will download it in CSV format.
  3. Instructions.
  4. Suggestions.
  5. About Us.
  6. Privacy and Terms.
  7. Contact.
  8. Logout.